stolen post idea

Have you ever gotten to the point that you just loose all steam? Something happens and you can’t even cry anymore, you are numb, flabergasted and tired. I’ve hit that point. For MONTHS we have been waiting on the Kidhene Mihret Orphanage to sign our paperwork releasing our kids for a court date. Yesterday they announce that they will not work with our agency. I have a peice about my kids, I know that they will eventually be home, but I wasn’t prepared for this obstacle, we were so close to being finished, and now, now I don’t know where we are. Adoption Limbo.

So I had all these cute and funny post for this week, I was actually going to do a post a day, but yesterday I kind of lost that steam. I kind of lost the motivation to be funny too, but I did want to put some stuff out here, so I am stealing Mary’s post from today and showing you a little into our home.

When we bought our house the upatairs was finished with that fake wood board that is used in single wides from the 70’s. Makes sense as the upstairs was finished out in the 70’s. There are 2 bedrooms and 1 bath upstairs, and that’s where our kids stay. As you can see from the photo , the wood was pretty drab and boring for a kids room.

So we ripped up the carpet and found beautiful hardwood floors that cover our house and we painted the kids rooms. Instead of compromising on the layout and design we settled our stylistic differences by letting Heather paint Kaitlyn’s room, and I painted Lucas’s room.

Heather decided to go with a family theme. She wanted something that looked “kiddie” kind of like a kid’s picture that is made for art class.

Kaitlyn’s only real request was she wanted 3 crosses in the corner of her room on a hil. So of course we gave her her request. She is a great kid, and understands a lot in her simple way. She would write “notes” to Jesus and tape them to the cross. This is before she went to school so there is no way I can tell you what she wrote, and most of the time she would forget by the time I would ask her.

Now for a while Lucas and Kaitlyn share a room, hers, as we had a roomate live with us in Lucas’s room. In fact we have had a couple of boarders that have lived in Lucas’s room, including what our kids call their Magic Sister Nikki. She is “magic” because she appeared overnight and was alredy in her 20’s when she appeared. Now she has promised to post comments on my blog, and she has posted comments on my wifes blog, and maybe if I start talking about her here on mine she will live up to her word.

Now you can’t see it that well, but behind the bunk bed you can see some stick figure people, that is our old family, sans 2 of our kids. They were under the end of the rainbow showing the true treasure that can be found, called our family.

So I took on doing Lucas’s room. Think what is Carles Shultz was a Dead Head, and there is his room. You can see my family cartoon, Lucas was on a ski behind the boat flying through the air, but of course the photo has him cut off as well. I know I have decent photos of the walls and all the pictures, but for some reason I can’t find any of them this morning. Unfortunatly with all the boarders we have had, Lucas really got gipped on his room, and although he has always known it was his room, he has spent most of his life sharing his sisters room. And now, well now our house is up for sale and his room is a grey-green and Kaitlyns room is an white-pink. Very “sellable” colors. We gave up on it being “our” house a long time agoa and have focused on making it a ‘sellable” house. Got $89,000?

So if you can’t tell I went with a sea theme for his room. The idea was eventually I was going to paint each of his grandparents in the windows on teh yellow submarine, but I never got around to it. In fact I never actually “finished” his room. The crab and the octopus were still incomplete when we painted over them.

Speaking of the painting over. As cool as this all looks, you wouldn’t believe how hard it was to make it look good when we painted over it. In fact if you look at the right sections of the wall you can still see the ridge lines of certain objects. It was fin, but it’s a LOT of work. And if you have any thought that you MAY move out of your house, it’s not worth it.

So there you go, and if you are wondering what we sleep in here you go:

we were turned on to “co-googling” by one of our dear California freinds, thanks B

4 Responses to “stolen post idea”

  1. Wow! I’ve been a lurker on your site for awhile…just actually recently posted on your wifes blog….thanks for stopping by- we are beginning the process in Jan- always thought it was going to be from China but all signs are beginning to point to Ethiopia….my family has been keeping you and your family in our prayers- we so hope your children are home with you soon. Any suggestions on an agency for us? We’ve received info from Dove and AAI…..happy 4th!

  2. I’m sorry to hear about the delay, Avery. That truly sucks.

  3. So sorry about your bad news!!! Hope you hear something soon. You and your dc have already been waiting too long. You and your wife are so incredibly talented!!!

    Many Blessings,
    Renee

  4. Thanks for sharing this information. Really is pack with new knowledge. Keep them coming.

Leave a Reply

