Quiz Answered and Then Some

I had promised an answer to the quiz last week, and I fell through and didn’t post after we found out we weren’t going to get the signatures we had so counted on. Pray for us, this is a really tough time.

So who is he? Ti Ti Henry, Captain of the Arsenals, striker for team France in the Wolrd Cup and the sexy black guy you see on all the soccer themed comercials right now. Now his family is West Indy, but he was born and raised in France, and is employed by a professional foottie team in England. Now the bigger question is why did I post this quiz?

The begining was from an adoption group I used to participate in, EthioAdopt. I stopped my participation because I couldn’t stand the juevenille behavior af many of the participants, but the final straw came over an arguement over the terminology of “African-American”. You see the group has members from all over the world, and when an American tells a lady from Spain she needs to refer to her Ethiopian children as “African-American” well, I just couldn’t take it anymore. Then I sat and watched an American journalist ask a black man, born and raised in England, what is was like to be an “African-American” My jaw just hit the floor. Since when has the vast majority of the world’s black population been catagorized as “American” anything?

I had to laugh at my son today, as he was talking to one of our Ethiopian freinds at the Ethiopian Pentecostal Church in Cary. He looked at Tigist and said, “We are adopting a new brother and sister, they are black, but they are not really black, they are brown like you.” Tigist laughed and patted his head telling him he is just like her daughter; she pointed to the black writing on a peice of paper and said, “This is black, my skin is not black, it is brown, that is what my daughter always says”.

So what is the genetic difference between me and my African brother? None. Nothing seperates us except I inherited the “bad” genes, the recessive ones missing the melatin causing my skin to burn easier. But here in the land of the politically correct we can’t just all be shades of human, we have to be catagorized into skin tones and then we are expected to behave socially according to those skin tones.

I’m a long haired, leather clad, tatooed, biker. For some reason people think it’s ok to be racist, wait let me be politically correct with the terminology, not racist, but “Southern” or “red neck” or “good old boy” around me. I wonder if they get the hint when they are in the middle of a sentence and I give them my back and walk away? I think I will probably punch the next person who tells me they’re not racist, they’re “Southern” But it’s not politically correct for me to punch them in the face and call them a racist pig now is it?

But if you wanted to be PC stop calling me white and start calling me Catawba-Scottish-Irish-English-Pirate-American. Or better yet, just call me mutt.

And you know I know there are a lot of “Church” people that read my blog, so let me say this if you have read this far. If you are looking around your church and noticing a lack of diversity, and you can walk out into your church parking lot and find rebel flag stickers on the cars of your parishoners, well I don’t think you have to look much deeper for the root of the issue. Pastors you can’t stand behind the pulpit praying for racial reconciliation and have a blind eye for deacon Joe because he’s just a “good old boy” Personally it makes me sick when I see the church turn a blind eye to the flag of hate, and yes I am speaking to both sides of the fence here.

Call me what you will, but don’t try to label me as politically correct, because that label just won’t stick.

So what will I call my kids? Konjo. Mine. The Image of God. And that all goes for all 4. The funny thing is my Ethiopian children can actually call themselves “African-American” as they truly will be.

My guess is that in 20 years we will all be carrying around little color swatches, like what you get from Lowes, that will have all the skin tones and the corresponding “category” Me, I’m hoping that whoever makes the chart lists my tone as Q-7. You laugh but watch, the politcal correct craze will crash with the global economy and someone will have to relabel us all to be politically correct on the global scale.

You, well your are probably P-4.

6 Responses to “Quiz Answered and Then Some”

  1. menyelenal Says:

    hey friend,
    I beleive you are angered by an incident you probably went through. labeling will always be there positive or otherwise being politically correct simply put is a way to say nasty things in a polite way. I like your frankness and I hope you continue. I always in times of adversity every trickle of resistance does help 😉

  2. I agree with the EthioAdopt thing…they get all worked up over there.

    I call my son black….and I get so much feedback about it from other white people. I personally, just say what his birth family says..but since I call us white–black seemed to fit. I know many black (or brown..my daughter HATES it when I say black b/c he is brown..not black…) people here in my area who are NOT America, they are Hatian, West Indian, African..etc. It seems silly to assume everyone is American.

    Did someone REALLY ask TiTi how it felt to be AA? RESEARCH PEOPLE. Man.

    I was thinking of you this week, mate, while I was both in Kissumu and in England. Arsenal (they say Arsenal..not The Ansenal……just like they say “go to hospital” not go to THE hospital…strange, I know) won a few games and I caught the higlights on telly while in England.

    What is going on w/ the signitures? I am so sorry. What is your agency doing about it?

  3. You read my mind, man. Well written and spoken with truth — all of it. My husband always says that he wants our family to look like heaven. He especially says this to the people who seem to think that all of heaven looks like they do.

    BTW: I have a friend from Haiti that goes ballistic when she is called African-American. I have another friend who is South African descent but born in England and now lives in America but is not an American citizen. Nevertheless she is always called African-American.

  4. I’m new to your blog, but what a way to start. Bravo on this brilliant post!!!!!!! I have had a MAJOR pet peave about the whole “African-American” term for a long time. What is so politically incorrect about saying black?! We brought our Ethiopian daughter home three months ago, and other than sweet baby, pretty girl, Gracie, etc. the only racial term used at our house is “chocolate baby”. She has the most lovely milk-chocolate skin tone. I am a bit jealous with my pastey white complexion. 8^) Thank you for talking about this issue, and good call on unsubscribing to the Yahoo group. I made the same choice.–>

  5. Great post. On the AA thing, I read a post from an Ethiopian woman on a group recently that she thought AA wasn’t a term she liked because it assumes all people from Africa are the same. She said our kids would be better described as Ethiopian or Ethiopian-American.

    To us, they are just our kids, chosen by God just for us.

    We too have left behind some of our Yahoo groups because they became one big argument.

    Rich

  6. Enjoyed this post. The term African American has always seemed pretentious to me, and you explain why wonderfully. I call my daughter Ethiopian-American when/if the discussion comes up.
    nearly a neighbor,
    heidi

Leave a Reply

