Great News

So last night I kept debating whether or not to post the most awesome of all news, and I decided not to, only to have my wife scoop me at some point last night and post it on her blog!!!!!

You see I have been leaving Heather alone as she has been working on a gift for a friend of ours that just had a baby, yesterday at 2pm actually. She made a very pretty quilt, but she started on it on Monday! Now in her defense she had taken this idea from an adoption group and used it for our friend, but the other people didn’t respond in a timely manner. You see she had people, friends, family, everyone we could find that was important to our friend, and she got them to all give a 6×6 square of fabric that was symbolic of their love for this baby and Heather put it all together in an awesome quilt. Everyone then took a small piece of fabric and wrote a letter to the baby and it’s a keepsake for years to come. I’ll post pictures once she gives the quilt to her (she is in the hospital right now and I doubt she will be on my site anytime soon) All this to say I have been leaving her alone so she can work on her quilt, and she didn’t come to bed until 4am this morning. It’s almost done, I don’t really know what I’m talking about but all she has to do is put the binding on now and she is good to go.

Now for the news.

I am headed to Ethiopia to meet my kids. No, they aren’t coming home, we still don’t have a court date, but I get to spend some time with our kids and they get to meet Dad. Unfortunately I won’t be able to post pictures due to Ethiopian law, but trust me, they will be taken!!!!! Several months ago we had said that if we didn’t have a court date by July that I would be open to traveling to meet the kids. But we had also said that if God wanted me to go He would have to prepare the way for me to go. Well late last week I received the most awesome of gifts, a ticket to Addis Ababa!!!!!!! I get an entire week with my kids!!!! I don’t even know what to expect. I’m not the slightest bit concerned with the travel, I don’t even care that I my lodging is on the couch of a missionary friend’s house in Addis, I don’t care that I barely speak any Amharic, but I am scared to death to meet my kids!!! I am SO in love with the kids, but I know they are kids and as kids self centered and I doubt they have a full comprehension of the love I have for these guys. I know there is a long road of bonding in front of us, but I already love them as my own. Now I will actually be there, face to face, and I’m scared. I guess it’s a good thing. I’m scared because I want to protect them, I want them to be well adjusted, to be safe, and to feel safe. I know they have to be equally as nervous to know they are meeting their new father, and I want to live up to their expectations and dreams. They have seen pictures of me and they have a DVD of our family, but now they have to meet the man that everyone says is “The Big Show’s” twin brother (the big guy from WWE, who is Andre the Giants nephew or something like that) I scare American kids and they are used to big white dudes, I’m a giant in Ethiopia, and my kids are tiny!

I am so excited to go. I don’t know how I will ever bear it when I have to leave them and come back to the US, but from the books I have read on adoption this can actually be a positive thing for the attachment process for the kids. They get to make it “real” yet still have time to process everything for a while in Ethiopia in their environment. Trust me, I wish I was traveling to bring them home, but I have to look at the positives as well as everything else.

Pray for me, even more so pray for my wife who will be staying here with our kids. And most of all pray for my kids.

10 Responses to “Great News”

  1. CONGRATS! That is fantastic that you are going to meet them. I’m glad that you’re taking this chance to go and meet them. You’ll both be blessed for it. I’ll be praying for your time there and for comfort as you come back to the US.
    Courtney

  2. COngrats!!!! That is such exciting news!! I have been lurking here for a little while – I found you thru Mary (Owlhaven)

  3. Avery, that’s fantastic! What a great time! Will pray that all goes well. Can’t wait to hear all the details when you return.

    Godspeed.

  4. How awesome!!!!! I love was God provides in unexpected ways. Enjoy those kids!

  5. I’m so happy you get to go meet them!!! I am sure your trip will be awesome, and hopefully those kids can come home to the US soon!

    (Was a reason given as to why the orphanage won’t place with your agency???)

  6. Woo hoo! This is such exciting news! I’d be scared, too — but I know you’ll cherish the memories and never regret it for a second.

    Congratulations! Wow.

  7. Avery!! That is great! I am so happy for you I just woke my kids up by whooping!!

    I can’t wait for you to meet them. This will make the wait a tiny bit easier for them and you knowing that the NEXT time you see them it will just be a reunion………

    R

  8. Avery,Ha! I read about it first on your wifes blog! Congratulations! This is surely in Gods plan for you. Don’t be afraid how the kids will take meeting you. They will know you are their big pappa! And adore you. Will be praying hard for you and the fam. I do not understand about the hold up for the kids. Perhaps on this trip God has a plan to move things along! I am excited for you all!

    Dawn

  9. What great and exciting news! Wow! Savor every single moment (I know you will) and soak up the culture (I know you will) and tell us ALL about it when you get back (I know you will).

    We will be praying for you and for your children both in Ethiopia and in the USA (and your wife)!

    I am so excited for you guys!!!!

  10. I can’t wait to hear all about it!

    Mary

Leave a Reply

