World Help

http://www.worldhelp.net/defaultArticles_video_my_will.asp

This weekend we are hosting some of the kids from the Children of the World International Children’s Choir, a program of World Help. As I understand the program the take orphans from all over the world and take them on tour for this program for a year. They then return to theit home country and are returned to the orphanages they came from.

As far as the program raising awarness and compasion for the plight of the orphan I’m really on board with these guys. And from what I can tell I really like what they are doing in the countries that they are in. I’m just really torn on what I think about this choir.

First off they are bounced all over the country, in various homes, constantly on the road. Lots of exposure sure, but no stability.Secondly they have a life of absolute luxury for a year, but then they go back tot he very problem situation they came from. Exactly how are they supposed to process all of that?

I am looking for feedback from people on their program, I’d like to hear back from anyone that knows anything about these guys.

By the way, the link is to a really cool video of theirs from one of the songs I loved during college.

http://www.worldhelp.net/defaultArticles_video_my_will.asp

3 Responses to “World Help”

  1. I was thinking the same thing…they take them back? That must be hard. I love how the AFrican Childrens Choir does it…they go to a music school and get an education…. wow.

    Avery, you are inspiring b/c you are always doing one thing or another to help someone out..usually little kids. I wish I could wave a magic wand and have your kiddo’s home right now and give you a little break in the drama and blah from the adoption process.

    You are a good man.

  2. I don’t know anything about this choir (except what you wrote) but I think you’re right, that has to be hard for these kids. Sure they’re getting to see the world, but are their conditions improving, etc.? Interesting stuff for sure. In some ways it almost seems like it could have the potential to be exploitative.

    I think it’s great that you’re housing some people!!!

  3. I saw the World International Children’s Choir perform last night. I thought the children were adorable and great entertainers. However, I couldn’t help feeling like they were a minstrel show and were literally “singing for thier supper”. Those children were between the ages of 7 and 9, away from home for 11 months, split apart and housed in different homes and different cities. Some of the children in the choir came from two parent homes that received subsidies, however, some of the children were living in orphanages and it was clearly stated on the program that these children were not available for adoption. What a let-down after thier 11-month tour.

    I came away feeling more concerned about the children in the choir than the children in the home countries who will benefit from the fundraising.

Leave a Reply

