It’s not going so good.

If you have been reading my wife’s blog you know of all the really cool things that have been going on since we started this 30 days thing, but I’m about to major league blow the entire thing out of the water.

You see I ride my bike every day, I don’t own a car, Heather has a little Echo (which brings up some logistical problems for when the kids do get home, but we will have $350 a month to work with then as we will no longer be paying for the child care fees) Well the other day I was riding my bike and the front wheel locked up on me and made a terrible noise. It only lasted a split second, but it happened several times. Well, as Lucas was riding with me I pulled over and had the wife bring the Echo out to pick him up. I shot an e-mail to my Bikers for Christ brothers and had a ton of e-mails responding today letting me know my bearing are shot, and hoping my axle isn’t shot as well.

 Remeber how I said I don’t have another means of transportation, well if I want to stay employed I have to get the thing fixed (mind you there is a $200 problem with the drivetrain that I have been ignoring as it’s not a safety thing it’s just going to leave me stranded on the side of the road eventually) So I priced out the parts for this repair job and they are going to run me about $100, but I don’t own the tools to fix it so there is an added issue of either taking it to the shop or buying a bike lift and couple of wrenches for about the same price as the labor (I own wrnches, just not the ones needed) So like I said I am ruining the cash flow thing for this 30 days thing.

On the plus side I am very grateful that I have a 97 Honda Magna that I can fix, and that I have the resources to fix it.

3 Responses to “It’s not going so good.”

  1. I’d probably do the same thing. Getting to work is a necessity. If nothing else, it might make me appreciative of the tension the truly poor live in – with no option whatsoever. Broken transportation could be the final straw for someone on that fragile edge.

    The Lord is good! I’m thankful that you are *not* on that fragile edge and He has provided for your need.

  2. I’ve learned a lot during the 30 Days experiment. And I have done a lot worse than you, I think. So no worries. It’s been a journey, that’s for sure.

    The bike is gorgeous, by the way.

  3. I am totally interested in you, just by reading your blog and about your adoption experiences! But then to discover you ride a motorcycle….wow! My husband has a 2002 Honda Shadow Sabre and I have a 2006 Suzuki SV650. Your bike is beautiful by the way, love the colors.

Leave a Reply

