Update on transportation

Update, my bike is being fixed, thanks to a benefactor with the funds to do so. And I am driving someone’s 3rd car that has been sitting unused for a while I wait for the parts to come in. And just as good, depending on how you look at it, the entire bill for the repairs should come in under $500, there was another problem with the bike that has to be repaired for the shop to release it, but we have the funds for that because of the generosity of others in contributions to the adoption relieving us from the monthly $350 bill. 

All of this fits it so very tightly with the scripture I was reading the other day: 

1 Timothy 6 : 5-10; 17-21     

(5)  Eventually there’s an epidemic of backstabbing, and truth is but a distant memory. They think religion is a way to make a fast buck.  (6)  A devout life does bring wealth, but it’s the rich simplicity of being yourself before God.  (7)  Since we entered the world penniless and will leave it penniless,  (8)  if we have bread on the table and shoes on our feet, that’s enough.  (9)  But if it’s only money these leaders are after, they’ll self-destruct in no time.  (10)  Lust for money brings trouble and nothing but trouble. Going down that path, some lose their footing in the faith completely and live to regret it bitterly ever after.   (17)  Tell those rich in this world’s wealth to quit being so full of themselves and so obsessed with money, which is here today and gone tomorrow. Tell them to go after God, who piles on all the riches we could ever manage–  (18)  to do good, to be rich in helping others, to be extravagantly generous.  (19)  If they do that, they’ll build a treasury that will last, gaining life that is truly life.  (20)  And oh, my dear Timothy, guard the treasure you were given! Guard it with your life. Avoid the talk-show religion and the practiced confusion of the so-called experts.  (21)  People caught up in a lot of talk can miss the whole point of faith. Overwhelming grace keep you! 

And they say scripture is irrelevant to today’s society. I wonder if the guys who book the pastors on TBN have ever read this stuff? I mean it doesn’t take long to flip on the “religious TV” (which by the way I mostly refuse to watch) until you see some dude spouting off about how they know they are “godly” because they have 3 BMW’s and a Lexus in their 15 bedroom house but please send them a love offering so they can continue this “ministry” and buy a personal jet. Yeah, you’ve seen them too have you? It’s nice when things actually got the other way around though, when you get the phone call from the guys with the cash that they want to help you out, in this particular situation we have had several people help us out this week. It’s been a huge blessing to us. Even the shop blessed us, and they gave me the employees discount (doesn’t hurt that I’m buddies with the guy that rang me up) 

The really funny thing is we would have had the money except we felt like we were supposed to contribute to some families worse off than us last month right before we started this 30 days things.  I know I’m never going to have any real money in the bank, there is too much of a need for me to accrue monetary wealth. 

I know I will never have the corner office, I can’t worry about my career to that degree when there are truly important things to be done out there.  I know I will never have that brand new 6 speed Street Bob Harley Davison (my current incarnation of the dream bike to own) I couldn’t spend that kind of money on my car, the vehicle that serves my entire family, much less a vehicle that will only serve me. Eventually this bike will die, but I’ll find another cheap deal when it does. 

But I also know I am in the top percentile of the richest people in the world, that so much of the world would scratch their head that I would even have the potential to acquire these things.  And I also know that even though it doesn’t make any sense to anyone, I’m content with my life. I have so much more than I actually need, so much more than I can actually use, and I enjoy helping those that I can.  

I know my current station is only temporary, eventually our finances will improve and we will be able to do even more for others, and not be as tight with ourselves.   But there is such a fine line between living comfortably and within your means, and living gluttonously. This 30 days has shown us a lot of gluttony around our home, not much I can assure you by most peoples standards, but a lot of ways we can cut back and be more effective.   Thanks for your prayers. I thought you would like to know the outcome of the saga that is my bike, and the ramblings it’s brought up in me.

One Response to “Update on transportation”

  1. Hello everybody,
    I’m a 36 years old woman, married and with children. I have an employ as geography teacher, part-time, so I can spend the time to take care of my family and it goes pretty good like this. During the never ending spent in my house there is something that i prefer to do in the meantime that is watching foreign channes on my satellite . I also like to watch comedies. I don’t evoidsometime to watch soap
    opera either.
    I am enough sadisfied with my life and overall about my kids. I just hope to stay health, so just an normal happy life.
    ‘ll see you
    Amber

Leave a Reply

