I want to ride my bicycle, I want to ride it now….


We finally have a bit more on the bicycle program, thanks Bek, and this is the family we will be helping.The organization is Reach the Children.

For the purposes of this blog, this is Mr. O and his family.

There is one daughter that isn’t in the picture. She was at school. The husband is a cattle dealer and he must walk a long way to go to market and to his clients. If they have a bike they will be able to get to work faster (and therefore get more done) as well as transport his farm produce to market allowing his wife to make an income of their garden plot.

They were caring for an orphan in their home, but unfortunately the child died. They are interested in having other children come into their home as soon as they can have more income. Previously they didn’t think they could b/c they wanted to make sure they had enough to send their children to school. Part of the grant is that the families must help orphans and/or keep their own children in school.

So unbekownst to Mr. O and family Uncle Avery and clan is supplying them with their dream of owning transportation. It’ll be a while between updates as this family is on teh other side of the country from the office that runs the program, but I am very excited to make a difference for this family.

A mere $60 and this family is forever altered with something we consider to be frivolous, transportation.

And in my garage I have a bike for every one of my kids, 2 for my Ethiopian son (depending on his size) and a few for when freinds come over. No, we don’t buy them, people throw them away and we “garbage shop” a lot. The funny thing is I don’t own one, if it has 2 wheels it needs a motor!

If you are interested in getting involved with the program shoot me a comment below and I will forward you on.

5 Responses to “I want to ride my bicycle, I want to ride it now….”

  1. I hear you Avery – I think we have about 11 bikes for the soon to be 9 of us.

    Great job sticking with the 30 Days of Nothing plan.

  2. πŸ™‚ Thank you!!

    I will try and get you first names as soon as possible. The goal is to have the bikes there by the new year (we have to send them all at the same time…so we need all the money raised first). When they get their bikes we will get pictures and more info, for sure. I might even go over and supervise it. πŸ™‚

    THanks again for the plug and THANK YOU for making a difference to the this family.

  3. Hi Avery, We are interested in buying a bike too.
    Can I just email Bek, (above)?
    Mary

  4. We’d be interested in helping out.

  5. Marla in W-S Says:

    Avery- Please tell me how I can give a family a bike too! I am in NC, and your story has inspired me. After my next biological child, I too, would like to adopt from Ethiopia! Also, who is your agency and do you recommend them? I was searching your blog, and could not find info (however, I am new to blogs…). Thanks!

Leave a Reply

