Bad News

We received an e-mail from the director of our agency telling us that rather than having a court date today our agency was put on “hold”.  We have been told every agency has been put on hold, and that they do not know when the system will start moving again. This means we are back to having no idea of when our family will be complete.
 
I was hoping to be able to send good news out today, instead my world has sunk.

12 Responses to “Bad News”

  1. I’m so sorry.

  2. Oh no.
    You are using AAI yes? I am really confused b/c we are on the wait list with AAI and I have been reading many blogs. Another blogger using AAI talked a week or so ago about relicensing for all agencies but I haven’t seen anyone else or anyone with other agencies talking about this and read the CHSFS forum and they are getting referrals and travel dates?!

    Anyway, I am really sorry you and your family are being delayed again.

    carol

  3. Sorry to hear about you guys getting delayed Avery. I think this must be the same relicensing issue we are going through with AAI. They say that the Ethiopian government is requiring additional paperwork this year, in a different format.

    Our court date was supposed to be the 16th, and they tell us now that the license is renewed, and we should be hearing when our new court date is any day now.

    Again, sorry about more waiting for you guys. Try and keep your chins up, the end of the journey is near.

  4. So sorry, Avery.

    Hang in there

    Mary

  5. so sorry.

  6. Sorry to read your post about your court date. I just started reading your blog. You have great insight. You are right, my world view has been opened a bit more. Thank you for blogging.

  7. our prayers are with you guys! Sorry that you got this news today. If you need anything, please don’t hesitate to call us.

  8. Judith Kiplinger Says:

    I found your website this morning while googling ethiopian sibling adoption. My husband and I are doing our homestudy through WHFC but are going to adopt through Christian World Adoption. Yesterday, we were made aware of a family that desperately needs to be adopted as their father passed away from AIDS three years ago and their mother is very ill with AIDS now. I am so sorry for your delay and also wonder what it will mean for so many other Ethiopian children who are waiting for their forever families to come and get them. Thank you for sharing your story here. where do you live? We are in the Boston area. Judith

  9. I am so, so sorry to hear the bad news Avery and Heather. My heart sunk. I will keep praying that this gets resolved soon.
    Lisa

  10. Judith Kiplinger Says:

    I just found your website so I’m sorry to be clueless about your whole story – but I thought your three children were home already? Is this a current development that the agencies have put everything on hold? I guess I should phone our social worker right away! thanks, Judith

    p.s. what a beautiful family

  11. Huh!!! Avery, you have a tremendous testimony once you get your kids. Wishing you the best.

  12. I can’t even begin to express my sadness for you and your family during this time. I will continue to pray for your family to be brought together. God has to have some HUGE plan for there to be so many delays in bringing you all together.

    God Bless you, Heather and the children.

Leave a Reply

