Adoption Education

Adoption Education?

It seems as if in the modernist world no matter what the problem was there was an answer to be found in taking a class, reading a book or attending a seminar. One of the reasons I liked the agency we chose for this adoption was the fact that they didn’t require us to take an classes, as I’m sure the closest location to attend a preadoption class would be a minimum of an hours drive on the interstate from our home. Now mind you I have checked out every single book our library has on the subject of Adoption, I had more Psych classes in my college career earning my BS in Secondary Education than I ever care to admit (and I’ve never used my degree for a days employment in my life) So I’ve educated myself, and feel as about qualified to go into this thing as a person really can be. But I’m not a fan of someone else telling me to take their classes and answer their questions their way if I want to adopt a kid. But I am a huge advocate that not only do you need to educate yourself on adoption, the developmental stages your kids will go through, and thr special needs adoptive kids have in growing up, but I’m also a huge advocate of educating those around you, friends and family.

And of course my budget is always FREE!

So that’s why I love Adoption Learning Partners, they make their money on selling the certificates, but as far as I know there is no one other than Childrens Home Society that requires this for the agency, thus they are FREE to use and take the courses. 

The courses take a bit of time to do, but they are really good, even if they are a review of what you’ve read a million times before, and it saves your prograss through the courses so if you have to stop in the middle of one, you can pick up where you left off the next time rather than starting over.

I’ve asked friends and family to take a few of the courses, I don’t know if they did, in fact i doubt they did actually, but if you have “problem” familiy and friends (and all the adoptive families know exactly what I’m talking about here) this is a good resource to have. It’s very non confrontational as they get to get all the “facts” on adoption, but not from you, and at their own pace, and if they want to argue with the web site, well, it’s an arguement that you don’t have to have right?

http://www.adoptionlearningpartners.org

3 Responses to “Adoption Education”

  1. I really like this resource as well, the “Conspicuous Family” course was very good. I didn’t think about sending it to family/friends to look at, but I will now. Thanks

  2. You have no blogs by adoptees or first mothers on your links list.

  3. Avery, have you had any update on court dates, etc? I guess that is a dumb question but I’m hoping I just missed something and you have a court date and travel date.

Leave a Reply

