my ONE bracelet

I’m sure if you read my blog you’ve seen the people walking around with the white bracelets, and know what they mean, but if you just randomly fell into my site let me give a bit of the back story.

The white band is our common symbol of the global fight to end poverty.

It was agreed as a worldwide symbol by the Global Call to Action Against Poverty, the world’s largest ever anti-poverty movement with organisations representing more than 150 million people in over 80 countries.

Rumour has it that it was started by Nelson Mandela, the “President of the World”

Now of course there are a ton of people making money off what has become a “fad” now, you can’t call yourself a post modernist and not have some fashion accessory showing your link to global justice. And even though the ONE groups sells their bracelets for just a buck I can’t bring myself to spend a dollar on a piece of non biodegradable consumerism driven fad linking me to millions of red GAP t-shirt wearing teens and soccer mommies.

But that said I am a huge supporter of ONE and Make Poverty History, but I can’t get past the irony of wearing overprices cheap advertising to promote making a difference on extreme poverty.

So I decided to grab one string and make my own.

Yep, this is my white arm band, self made, and it’s one string with no break, and it perfectly cyclical. Yes, that means I had to make it while wearing it, and there is no way to take it off other than to cut it.

I’m not against the rubber wrist bands, but I would like to see more people making there own bands and taking real ownership of making a difference in extreme poverty and global justice.

Wearing the band is just a tool to open the doors to get people to ask. But to those that already know, it’s a way to find kindred souls.

6 Responses to “my ONE bracelet”

  1. Well, I sit here wearing my “RED” Gap shirt while stuffing several bags of things to give you to take to Ethiopia. So, I hope wearing my trendy shirt doesn’t discount the heart that I have for helping others. I don’t think the act of wearing a shirt or buying a bracelet makes you a person that is necessarily involved in the world. It is obviously what you do with your life. I could spend money at another retailer, but I chose to buy a Gap Red Shirt because I thought it was more helpful than not. (Ex: Jobs in Africa, promoting support there, and proceeds of the sale of the shirt going there too.) Now, I am not disputing the fact that not enough of the proceeds will go there, but if buying a shirt helps people to feel like they are doing something good, then let them without judging.

    P.S. I’m not a teen or Soccer mommy yet.:-

  2. Elizabeth,
    When I read Avery’s blog, I thought of you and how cool your t-shirt is! πŸ™‚ I guess it takes all types to end poverty, soccer mommies and non-conformists too…I don’t have a (red) t-shirt or a white wrist band. I am wearing neon green pants and a purple shirt though! How is that for trendy?! πŸ™‚
    Heather

  3. You are always stylin’ mama!

  4. I agree with Elizabeth. I have purchased several “red” products this year for christmas gifts for my teen aged nieces and nephews. I’m going to buy them a gift anyway, why not buy a gift that can help someone in a concrete way and may open a dialogue with my young impressionable family members. I also wear the plastic bracelet and it has been a great opportunity to educate people about one, the global fund, povery, africa, etc., etc. Its a conversation starter. People know that the rubber bands are for “something” so people frequently ask b/c they don’t recognize it. In all seriousness do people ask you about your home made one? If so, then great, if not then I think you are missing one more opportunity to get the word out.
    Just my more than two cents πŸ˜‰

    carol

  5. Avery I thought this post was interesting. I’ve had some of the same thoughts myself (I do wear a ONE bracelet and I have the shirt too, however.) I don’t have any RED stuff but I’ve thought, that money could go so much farther if you just gave X number of dollars to a relief organization. BUT of course that doesn’t mean it’s not doing any good. At any rate I thought you raised some good points. These are good things to think about!

  6. I know this website gives quality dependent articles and additional stuff, is
    there any other web page which offers these data in quality?

Leave a Reply

