?!?!?!?!? UPDATE ?!?!?!?!?!?

Am I back?

I don’t know.

I am still trying to decide.  Either way there will be some changes, as you’ve noticed I’m sure.

Where have I been, well Lucas getting burned knocked me off the schedule, for months really. Living in the hospital for a few weeks, then the intensive care needed at home, well  this took a big back seat. Your love and outreach was tremendous though, I can’t thank you all enough!!!!!!

He is doing great, he has major scarring, but in reality he is a miracle walking. It could have been so, so much worse.

Also I have started playing percussion a lot more than I used to. right when he was burned I had decided to join the church worship team (which is now 2 services, ugg) on a 2 week rotation, well the other guy quit, so now I’m every week.  Well, for now, I will be going back to taking time off on a regular basis, as this 7:30am to 1pm every Sunday isn’t going to work out too well in the long haul.

Then there was the last minute concert I attempted when Ben from 100 Portraits (Enter the Worship Circle) calle me to say he was passing through my town and it would be a good stop point for a concert. I t was a house concert venue, and although it didn’t go how I thought it would, it was a really good growth point.  More on this all later.

Elswhere, I am now an Uncle, my sister Grace had her baby,  here is a photo of her little family:

on the downside to that one, our van took a nose dive last week. When you get to work to find a message from your wife saying the van was smoking when she got to work, well you step up the game plan and kick into high gear on the shopping. Mind you I had been shopping for a van, as we knew the current ride wasn’t worth us paying for an oil change (no that’s not the problem), much less what it would take to fix it now. So I found an awesome deal at a freinds lot, not because he was my freind, but just because he had a great deal on this one, so now we have a 2003 Honda Odessey, burgendy (woo hoo) I love the van, and no longer fear for my family’s life on family trips.  Our kids only complaint was the “I Love Ethiopia” sticker I got from the airport in Addis is gone!

And we found a recipiant for the old van as well. A friend of ours just came back from a few months up river, and was in need of a temporary fix for his transportaion needs, so freely received, freely given, and the smurf killer moves on (to an owner even more descriptive of it’s nominclature)

Obviously I have been gone a while, so as you discover this post let me know what you think. Is it worthwile to keep moving this blog forward into new areas, or is it time to shut it down and move on?  Dont expect anything on a regular basis, once a week will be a miracle right now, but I will be corresponding through the comments section I’m sure

As I do pop up in googles top 10 for adoption videos!!!!! cool

12 Responses to “?!?!?!?!? UPDATE ?!?!?!?!?!?”

  1. I vote that you continue to post occasionally on your blog site. I know that you don’t have time to send individual emails out to everyone that loves you about how things are going. It sure is nice to check in and see how things are going. I like reading your perspective and Heather’s. Of course, this is input from someone who doesn’t have a blog, so my viable voting rights may be questionable!

  2. Hey, glad to hear from you again! I was just a couple days ago thinking about you.,..

    mary

  3. Aaron Reinard Says:

    Avery, this is Aaron Reinard….we adopted a little boy just before you guys. I check in on both your blogs from time to time…..my vote is to keep it running.

    ALSO….I just found this if you’re looking for a new I Heart Ethiopia sticker.

    http://www.i-heart-shop.com/index.cfm?action=section&sectionID=929959

  4. I say keep it going!! You and your lovely wife have been a great inspiration to myself and my family!!

    🙂 Gala

  5. I had stopped checking your site for updates… then decided to try again and was so pleasantly surprised. I have missed reading your blog, so I’m very selfishly hoping you and Heather continue updating… though I completely understand how busy you guys are.

    By the way… congrats on your new van!!! It’s beautiful. I have a 2002 Odyssey that I love. I found a very cool “I love Ethiopia” license plate frame on Cafe Press that I have on my van. Easy to transfer to a new vehicle if you need to and won’t wear out like stickers sometimes do.

  6. Absolutely keep it going… I was so glad to read your latest message. Grace’s baby is precious and I am thankful Lucas is on the mend.

  7. Can’t wait to hear more about your family. Definitely keep blogging.

  8. I’ve been checking Heather’s blog for updates & on a whim, clicked on over to yours tonight. I’d love to hear how everyone’s doing occasionally.

    Angela 🙂

  9. Hi Avery,

    I posted about this on a much older post, but I never got a response, so I figured that maybe you haven’t been looking at your older posts. I also talked to your wife but she didn’t know the answer so I’m thinking maybe you woudl know the answer. I also couldn’t find your email address on your site (not that I’ve spent a lot of time looking), so that’s why I’m posting my question here.

    Where can I buy the $190 mitad? Does it have a ceramic surface? I have only been able to find Teflon-type and aluminum surface mitads so far.

    If you don’t want to post the answer here you can email me.

    Great blog by the way. I love your photos!

    Thanks!

  10. Hi again Avery,

    Nevermind! I found the website that sells the $190 one. At least I think it’s the same one you are talking about.

    Thanks anyways

  11. Because you’re so sexy of course we missed you…

    I don’t read blogs as much as I did before bringing home my 3 Ethiopian children but you have a voice and perspective that a lot of us are stretched by. We’d love to hear from you every now and again.

  12. Hey, just came across your blog. When my brother was 1 1/2 he pulled a deep fat fryer off the counter – 3rd degree burns on his back, arms and legs. I was only 6 but I remember it like it was yesterday! It was a long hard road but he’s 28 now and doing great. Just wanted to know we are praying for Lucas and your family. God bless!

Leave a Reply

